Under Texas Parks and Wildlife Code §31.105, the operator of a watercraft involved in an accident must report the accident and any casualties sustained in the accident either to a local law enforcement agency or to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. A boat accident normally must be reported within 30 days, although a report must instead be filed within 48 hours of the accident if the accident resulted in:
- A missing person
- Injuries requiring more than first aid
- Property damage exceeding $2,000 in value
A boater’s accident report is confidential and may not be admitted as evidence in court.
In addition to reporting a boating accident, the law requires boat operators to assist anyone to the extent practical and necessary to save an individual from or minimize danger from a boating accident.